top of page

I'm back!

Hello dear readers!

I'm sorry I haven't had the chance to update the blog in a while, but the reasons behind this are mostly good. I received a promotion to a Youth Services librarian position at my current library because one of my coworkers relocated to another state. Her leaving was a bit unexpected, so it felt like a bit of whirlwind from applying, to interviewing, to getting hired. I'm over the moon about getting the position- it is my first librarian job ever, and I love my department, my library, and all of my awesome coworkers! I seriously couldn't have asked for a more supportive and talented group of people, and I'm lucky that I get the chance to learn and grow with them.

I've been in the position for about a month or now, mostly getting used to working a full-time schedule (can you believe I've never worked full-time before??). Plus my job calls for working 10 hours a week at one of our branch locations, which requires some extra travel time on my already lengthy commute. Additionally, I've still been keeping up with many of the duties of my last job, since I'm still in the same department and we haven't hired a replacement yet.

Of course, it was also summer, which any person working in Youth Services will tell you is our busiest time of the year. I was lucky to be the lead at one of branches for special series of Elementary programs which included: Yoga, Zumba, Mad Science, and Reptiles Alive! Here are some pictures of the programs, which clearly show how much fun everyone had. My favorite program was the Reptiles program because I was chosen to be one of three "volunteers" to help hold a boa constrictor!

Mad Science DC
Reptiles Alive!
Zumba dance party

I recently had major surgery, so I'm currently out of work for a month while I recover. It's been about 10 days since my surgery, and I'm recovering well and my pain isn't too bad. I'm trying to use some of this downtime to catch up with storytime and program planning for the Fall, and of course, to add some posts to the blog.

Thanks again for your readership and support, I appreciate it!


Recent Posts
Archive
Categories
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Disclaimer

The content, views, and ideas expressed on BookWings are all my own, and do not reflect those of my employer or its users.  All content belongs to BookWings, unless otherwise noted.

bottom of page